Socially Awkward

images

Hello, My name is Neesh and I’m socially awkward…

How many times have you gone to a kickback, club, birthday dinner and there’s that one person who just doesn’t quite fit in to the group.

things-socially-awkward-people-understand-8jpgThey try to introduce themselves and stutter and fumble on their words. They try to make small talk, it falls flat. Then they usually end up “texting” or scrolling on their phone and when it’s time to go it feels like:

 

 

That person is me…

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gotten choked up on my words when trying to have “casual conversation” in fear of saying the wrong thing or sounding weird. Then the conversation turns into one awkward long pause followed by a couple of words…another awkward pause…and some more words until somebody finds any excuse to walk away.

As I’ve gotten older and finally managed to have decent conversations, I’ve realized that there are more socially awkward people than I thought. Some people have just gotten better at masking it than others. I also found out that I wasn’t the only one out here feeling like:images

Thanks to social media, it’s easier for us to seem social without really having to do much besides post a few cool pictures and memes every now and again but the truth always comes out when we are forced with that face to face interaction.  So if you see me in public and I don’t speak, its not because I’m rude…It’s because I’m not the best at social interactions.

But then theres always this to keep in mind:

images

So I’ll just keep being my awkward self!

Love,

Neesh

 

4 thoughts on “Socially Awkward

  1. Valarie Holt August 3, 2017 / 2:41 am

    I feel the same way about this social awkwardness! I’ve discovered that I just don’t like to “shoot the shit”. LoL. I would rather just sit in silence ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • lenjones1988 August 9, 2017 / 3:23 am

      Basically. Small talk is THE most awkward thing. Lmao

      Like

  2. Adot August 3, 2017 / 6:39 pm

    Same here! People think I’m being stuck up! I’m not I’m just quiet and socially awkward! Thanks for sharing neesha! You will be a blessing to someone with these honest words!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lenjones1988 August 9, 2017 / 3:23 am

      I knew I wasn’t the only one!!! I’m just trying to live in my truth and hope it helps somebody else!

      Like

Leave a Reply

