FOMO

IMG_0549I don’t know about y’all, but I know I find myself way too often looking scrolling down my timelines on Instagram, Twitter, FaceBook and SnapChat over and over again looking at what everybody is doing and of course it looks AMAZING!!! And what does that lead to??? FOMO.

What is FOMO?

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 9.10.08 PM

Thanks Urban Dictionary!


For me, FOMO usually happens when I’m sitting in the house on a Friday or Saturday night, hell any night in Houston, and start seeing people out and about in the city. In creep the thoughts “Why didn’t I know about that” “Dang, they didn’t tell me they were doing that” “They look lit!”. Even though I’m what they call a social introvert and needs lots of time to recharge between social events, I still feel that I need to be at EVERYTHING. Then the feelings set in so I make sure I make plans to run the streets so I can be out in the city moving around…but the funny thing is, once I get out and about its not always as fun as it was when I was watching on my phone.

Is there a cure for FOMO?

I’m glad you asked! Yes, there’s a cure. Do what the hell you want! Go out when you want, stay in when you want (and be confident in your decision). Also, remember that most people only put the best parts of their lives on social media so don’t feel bad when you don’t feel like you measure up. Chances are, they don’t either.

Love,

Neesh

 

 

Leave a Reply

